In a rut....time for a change?

What's Hot
I've got some lovely gear, that's took me a long time to assemble. I'm really happy with all of it...ie I'm not blaming the tools. However I seem to have slipped into a really contrived style of playing ( which is a poncey way of saying that I'm playing the same old clichés every time I pick my guitar up ). I'm a home player, never been in a band, never played in front of an audience, and never really wanted to. I'm a veteran player of 35 continuous, blissful years. 

I'm having the thought of going full circle, back to the beginning, selling all of my gear and investing in one acoustic. 

I wonder if there's anyone here who's actually done just that? I'd be really grateful to hear your experiences and insights. The best thing you've ever done, or a huge mistake that didn't really solve the initial "problem"? 

Cheers all 
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• not_the_djnot_the_dj Frets: 7306

I wouldn't sell anything, that could be a costly mistake.

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • Paul_CPaul_C Frets: 7756
    maybe buy something that'll force you to think differently in terms of music making for a while ?

ukulele/keyboard/old vibraphone ;) /etc.

"I'll probably be in the bins at Newport Pagnell services."  fretmeister
    1reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • ESBlondeESBlonde Frets: 3582
    Paul_C said:
    maybe buy something that'll force you to think differently in terms of music making for a while ?

This.

• guitarfishbayguitarfishbay Frets: 7959
    edited October 2013
     However I seem to have slipped into a really contrived style of playing ( which is a poncey way of saying that I'm playing the same old clichés every time I pick my guitar up ). I'm a home player, never been in a band, never played in front of an audience, and never really wanted to. I'm a veteran player of 35 continuous, blissful years.