Which amp should I get for sounding awesome?

What's Hot

Comments

• hywelghywelg Frets: 4303
    Clean amp and pedals for the most part for me, but I am desperate  to try a Dr Z Antidote..
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • monquixotemonquixote Frets: 17603
    tFB Trader
    If you are going pedals then the Shredmaster has been a revelation to me. 
  • p90foolp90fool Frets: 31577
    edited October 2013
    ICBM said:
    p90fool said:
    Get a big, non-master volume valve amp and a load of overdrive, distortion and fuzz pedals.

People don't get bored with their amps, they get bored with their PRE-amps. Shift it back outside the box and onto the floor where it belongs and you'll never change your amp again.

I agree up to a point, but the 'feel' of the main amp is still important, and they aren't all the same by a long way. I didn't realise how much I preferred valve-rectified amps until I started playing them - so you could still end up changing. Even the negative feedback makes a big difference.

Obviously a really good big non-master-volume amp with options like valve or solid-state rectifier, different power valve types, switchable negative feedback etc will come very close to being 'the last amp you'll ever need'.

Yeah I was sort of exaggerating to make a point really, and my own sizeable amp collection disproves my own argument to be honest.
    My main stage amps do have presence controls and valve rectifiers though!
  • ICBM said:
    Awesome = Mesa Trem-o-verb.
    I think I'm going to have to find and try one of these now, because I keep hearing you rate them... :D

What's this all about @ICBM ? Too much electrickery speak for me I'm afraid. http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Custom-Mesa-Tremoverb-HAND-WIRED-rebuild-by-Vyse-Amps-/111195340764?pt=UK_MusicalInstr_Amplifiers_RL&hash=item19e3c23fdc

• ICBMICBM Frets: 72307
    edited October 2013