Will learning Jazz theory stop me playing in the style I have already developed?

What's Hot
ToneControlToneControl Frets: 11892

I've been playing for 34 years, and I can play to professional-standard in the areas I have taken an interest in.

I have mostly avoided learning other peoples' solos, and tried to develop a style from the ground up, slowing down my playing then building up speed after the notes started meaning something. This probably leaves me somewhere in style between Dave Gilmour, Rev Gibbons (his slower styles), Matt Scofield (but not quite as Jazzy) and John Mayer, but with lots of my own little foibles. My techniques and theory are advanced in bits I am interested in, and significantly less elsewhere, since I am self-taught

I've enrolled for the Jazz improv course, and I've always liked (some) Jazz - I'd like to be able to do full-on Jazz when I feel like it, and mix in a bit (like Matt Scofield) when I want to

I'm slightly worried that, rather than simply giving me extra vocabulary to use when I desire, this new knowledge might stop me being able to play in my current style. Is this a valid concern? 

1reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• LewLew Frets: 1657
    So you're a blues player and you're worried about becoming a jazz player? ;-)

Do you speak French? I do and yet I can still speak English ;-)
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • The DNA of jazz is the blues. Your skills are transferable, your concern is of course valid because you're concerned about it. I'm sure you'll be fine. 

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • vizviz Frets: 10691
    Yes.
    Roland said: Scales are primarily a tool for categorising knowledge, not a rule for what can or cannot be played.
    Supportact said: [my style is] probably more an accumulation of limitations and bad habits than a 'style'.