Pedal Builders - do you have a particular sequence/method for trouble shooting?

What's Hot
DannyPDannyP Frets: 1676

Hi all,

I've built my first couple of pedals and one works fine, but the other is intermittent.

I'm no electronics expert, but I'm keen to learn and I'm trying to learn-by-doing. However, if you follow the instructions and it all works fine, you don't really learn anything - which is what I found with my Ampmaker build a couple of years ago.

I've been looking at various things on youtube to try to help me with this intermittent pedal. I put together an audio probe and have traced the signal back to a particular place, but the component there seems to be working.

I have a DMM and so I've been checking continuity and voltage of various bits and bobs, but I don't really know what I'm doing or how to interpret my findings.

Do any builders have a specific method such:

Does pedal work Y or N: N

Does this bit do what it should Y or N:

Have we tested this Y or N:

Is the reading for X correct Y or N:

etc etc etc...

Or one of those cloud charty things - if you know what I mean?

Any help extremely gratefully received.

Ta

DannyP

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• MaxiMaxi Frets: 13
    What pedal is it ? is it a kit on pcb or are you fabricating your own? 
    Two main areas of error are component value (the decimal point on caps)  and incomplete circuit or wrong way round components.
    1. Check component list and location .
    2. check traces jumpers and wire .
    3. pots and wiring .

You can save a shed load of debugging by quickly checking tolerances before populating the board .

Flown the nest .
  • When my fuzz was intermittent (bear in mind it's a bloody birdsnest!) it was just the PCB grounding against the chassis.  

Assuming you have ensured that is not happening (so the signal isn't being grounded somewhere), follow what maxi said.  
    Ha I didnt think of that .