newb head/cab question

What's Hot
axisusaxisus Frets: 28285
I am pretty green on amps. Played at home all my life so never really got into the whole amp thing.

A total newbie question - if you get a head and a cab, can you park the head somewhere else to the cab and run a longer cable? Due to my tiny practice room, I usually sit on my amp, but that is a pain in the ass for altering anything. it occurred the me that if I could sit on a cab and stick the head on the tabletop infront of me then that would be most useful indeed.

I figure that you could, but what do I know!?!

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• Yes.  It's incredibly common practice in studios.
    My muse is not a horse and art is not a race.
  • vizviz Frets: 10681
    Sure you can, though it will get warmer if longer.
    Roland said: Scales are primarily a tool for categorising knowledge, not a rule for what can or cannot be played.
    Supportact said: [my style is] probably more an accumulation of limitations and bad habits than a 'style'.
  • ecc83ecc83 Frets: 1630

If you do this get a decently long amp to cab cable. 5mtrs is nothing, guitar amps, especially valve output jobbies are very tolerant of long cables.

If you are handy with a solder iron use orange "garden" cable.

Dave.

• ToneControlToneControl Frets: 11884

long speaker cable (between amp and cab) loses less tone than long guitar cable (between guitar and amp)

The thicker the cable, the less the problem for speakers

However, sitting on the cab, your vas deferens may be in danger

• ecc83ecc83 Frets: 1630

long speaker cable (between amp and cab) loses less tone than long guitar cable (between guitar and amp)

The thicker the cable, the less the problem for speakers

However, sitting on the cab, your vas deferens may be in danger