Octaves

What's Hot

Comments

• octatonic said:
    There are proper terms for these things.
    In physics they are harmonic partials and the octave is the 1st harmonic / 2nd overtone or 2nd harmonic.

When I studied acoustics we were taught that the 1st harmonic is the fundamental and the octave was the 1st overtone/2nd harmonic.
    Science of Sound (Rossing, Wheeler, Moore) is quite specific on this.
    Yes, quite right. I meant to say 1st partial/ 2nd overtone /2nd harmonic
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • @daveww enjoyable, but makes the usual mistake: the division of the string length in 2 is only an "octave" if you divide the note space between the half-length and the full-length into 8 notes. Whereas the division of the string length in 2 is a physical phenomenon regardless of the number of notes you divide the note space between the full length and the half length into!
    "Working" software has only unobserved bugs. (Parroty Error: Pieces of Nine! Pieces of Nine!)
    Seriously: If you value it, take/fetch it yourself
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • ChrisMusicChrisMusic Frets: 1133
    edited November 2013
    Now that hit the spot.  Well put.  Wisdom returned.

edit for general clarification: a succinct question is half the battle, (talking to theFretBoard may be the other half ! )   ;)

• Thanks Chris. To be fair though, it did start with the halving of string length. Which is more than some tutorials do!
    "Working" software has only unobserved bugs. (Parroty Error: Pieces of Nine! Pieces of Nine!)
  • davewwdaveww Frets: 165
    I though it made the pint quite well.  The string divided into two each time.  Doesn't matter how many intervals in each half it's still an "octave".
  • which is only accurate when there are 8 notes in each division of the string. Try telling that to an African or a Chinese and they'll think you're daft because they divide it up into 5 not 8.