B.Y.O.C Kits

What's Hot
I'm very interested in getting my hands on a Marshall Bluesbreaker V1 pedal, but the originals have become rather pricey!

There are a few nice looking clones on eBay from time to time, but they occasionally go for big money as well, and as I don't know how much i'll actually use this pedal I don't really want to shell out big money...yet...

...which leads me on to the whole point of this thread, has anyone built or just used the BYOC British Overdrive? This is meant to be a Bluesbreaker clone kit, could anyone enlighten me if it uses the correct chip, resistors, other bits etc to make it a decent copy? Does it sound like the 'real thing'? Do I even want the 'real thing' or are the updated eBay clones actually worth going for instead as they reputedly improve on the design? Did it need 'improving'?

I may add that i've never built a pedal before, so this is new territory for me, therefore buying a ready-made one will probably be more likely but there's always a first time...

Any knowledge and insights to this pedal, and the various clones, will be greatly received :)

With so many comparison web sites out there, how do I choose the best one?

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• I think poodle pedals do a kit. His stuff is great, and well priced :) I built an axis Fuzz, saving me about 200 quid... Sounds amazing, and I'd never built a pedal before.
  • skayskay Frets: 394
    Had a look, great site but no sign of a Bluesbreaker pedal kit to my untrained eye. They appear to have some higher gain Marshall-esq pedal kits, but it's the low-gain thing i'm after, hence the Mk1 Bluesbreaker quest.

Thanks anyway, even though i'm tempted by some of their other stuff now!

• Go on facebook and ask Poodle if he's doing a BB kit in the near future. He's very accommodating and likes doing new stuff, to the point that my request for a Stratoblaster kit got it prototyped within a week!