Bent tailpiece posts les Paul

What's Hot
thomasw88thomasw88 Frets: 2325
edited November 2013 in Guitar
Gave my tokai lc85 it's quarterly string change today... Noticed that the talepiece posts have bent inwards quite a bit, which presumably isn't a design feature.. I have never used the screw in the body method before so was thinking that maybe it was something to do with the tension over time pulling the posts? Or is it something that I need to worry about? http://i915.photobucket.com/albums/ac351/thomasw88/20131119_211413_zps09c830b5.jpg http://i915.photobucket.com/albums/ac351/thomasw88/20131119_211928_zps6810830a.jpg
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• Wow, that's genuinely odd, something I've not heard of! (sorry, not helpful).

Is your intonation screwed?
  • ICBMICBM Frets: 72301
    Never seen that before!

Poor quality posts I think.

Were you top-wrapping the strings over the tailpiece? That may put more stress on them.

If they won't straighten, I would replace them. If they'll straighten enough to get them screwed down tight to the body - and not have the strings top-wrapped - I would set it up like that. With them tight down there will be less bending force on them.

"Take these three items, some WD-40, a vise grip, and a roll of duct tape. Any man worth his salt can fix almost any problem with this stuff alone." - Walt Kowalski

"Only two things are infinite - the universe, and human stupidity. And I'm not sure about the universe." - Albert Einstein

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • octatonicoctatonic Frets: 33793
    ICBM said:
    Never seen that before!

Poor quality posts I think.

Were you top-wrapping the strings over the tailpiece? That may put more stress on them.