Recommend me a book?

What's Hot
SkodadadSkodadad Frets: 509
I have decided my new year resolution is to learn some guitar specific music theory.
I have zero knowledge on the subject so could anyone recommend me a good book or two to get me going? I know lessons would help but whilst my partner is happy for me to take them I have to be realistic in that we can't honestly afford what I would need to learn as it would probably be a year's worth minimum of weekly lessons. A book also gives me the chance to learn at my own pace. Thanks
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• mike_lmike_l Frets: 5700

The Musicians Institute book Harmony & Theory is very good, and comprehensive. And, more to the point, makes you think about things, IE it's a workbook, rather than just being a bland text book.

Published by Hal Leonard, number HL00695161 Authors Keith Wyatt & Carl Schroeder.

Ringleader of the Cambridge cartel, pedal champ and king of the dirt boxes (down to 21) 

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 2reaction image Wisdom
  • SkodadadSkodadad Frets: 509
    Thanks mike_l
  • Never seen that but Wyatt is a very clear instructor so sounds promising.
    Tipton is a small fishing village in the borough of Sandwell. 
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • mike_lmike_l Frets: 5700

No probs.

I'm working through it myself, so know how useful it is. Also I prefer to have to think about things, as just reading text can be mindnumbing, and unproductive.

Ringleader of the Cambridge cartel, pedal champ and king of the dirt boxes (down to 21)