New Acoustic Player - Howdy Folks!

What's Hot

Hi Folks

Thought I'd stop by and introduce myself properly in the acoustic forum as I play purely acoustic!

I'm fairly new to the guitar, been playing around 6 months. Enjoying every moment!

I started with the Justin Guitar beginners course, but found myself easily distracted ("OOH LOOK A YOUTUBE VIDEO!") and decided that I was only going to be able to make so much progress without some face time with a tutor. So earlier this month I took my first proper lesson. Hit it off with the teacher straight away, so now signed up for one every two weeks, which I'm really looking forward to.

I play on a Takamine EG440SC which I picked up for a song. It's my 30th birthday in May and I've already decided that I'm going to treat myself (with a little help from the family) to a 'lifetime' guitar, something that I can grow into, and then with, and then hand down when I'm old(er) and grey(er). I'm looking so far at the 000-15 or 16 series Martins, though maybe the budget could stretch to a used 18.

I was an avid golfer until I picked up a guitar, and since that point I've had no interest in any other hobby. The guitar has literally consumed my every waking thought. The plus side of that is that around 50% of my new guitar fund has come just from selling off golf gear - win win!

I like to play mostly fingerstyle type stuff rather than being a strummer - I don't (can't) sing, so I find myself a lot more interested in pieces that have a bit more going on than strumming from the guitar, if that makes sense.

The sort of artists I like are people like Ben Howard, Damien Rice, but also older stuff like James Taylor, Simon & Garfunkel etc. Also I've only just discovered John Mayer - I saw his 'Where The Light Is' live DVD and it blew me away. Absolutely phenomenal. He's my new 'guitar hero'. I also have a big soft spot for Matchbox Twenty - they were the first band I really got into in my early teens.