Is anyone here self taught

What's Hot

Comments

• octatonicoctatonic Frets: 33793
    edited February 2016
    I understand the position Emp but that isn't how it works. 

Think of it like a language- learning more English words doesn't diminish your ability to write a cogent sentence. 

Or.... 

It like learn new words, learn more English not make less sentence make. 

Geddit?
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • @Emp_Fab you are clearly someone who would appreciate an elegant set of axioms and rules. I think you'd enjoy a properly structured approach to theory, partly for its own sake, and partly because it gives you the language to describe what you hear, or what you want to play. It is quite a beautiful thing.

"You'll love it. It's a way of life. The white zone is for loading and unloading only ..."
    "Working" software has only unobserved bugs. (Parroty Error: Pieces of Nine! Pieces of Nine!)
    Seriously: If you value it, take/fetch it yourself
  • DesVegasDesVegas Frets: 4529
    Self taught from The Cure guitar books back in the early 90's hence all the songs i used to write were in minor keys.

Now i'm concentrating on majors and the tunes i write are somewhat more upbeat.

Still never had one lesson but i would recommend it as you are bound to be taught something useful
  • Self taught, crap but now on the look out for wanking lessons at £25 an hour.
    Tipton is a small fishing village in the borough of Sandwell. 
    2reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • SRichSRich Frets: 762
    Self-taught also........got my first guitar when I was 14 and I'm now......

.......well that was 47 years ago.

I'll get that song and chord structure right soon, I promise.....;)

"There's things I want, there's things I think I want 
    There's things I've had, there's things I wanna have" 
  • PlectrumPlectrum Frets: 494