Is anyone here self taught

What's Hot

Comments

• prh777prh777 Frets: 143
    edited February 2016
    are people scared that knowing more would make them less creative? fascinating.....

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • samzadgansamzadgan Frets: 1471
    prh777 said:
    are people scared that knowing more would make them less creative? fascinating.....

it all comes down to how people like learning...and what works best for them.

my comments was that theoretical learning would help now that i've developed my own playing style and sound etc. I dont think i would be playing the stuff i am now if i had lessons.

This is only relevant to me, as with most things in life, i like to do things myself and learn things myself. I lose interest in most things if I'm taught how to do it, because i think my brain perceives it as done, and the challenge of teaching myself is gone.
  • octatonicoctatonic Frets: 33791
    I would admit to not being the most adventurous guitarist, and I know very little theorey, but my mate a local school teacher is a grade 8 guitarist, who is asking me how I play.?
    I am not one of those who think you shouldn't learn to read music, but I don't think it is that important if you don't. 
    I mentioned Clapton Page etc because they were known guitarists, EVH would be another example.
    Picking up theorey as you go along is one thing, learning to read after you have learnt to play is another, but learning to read music is not that important if you just want to play and gig with bands, understanding what music is about is a different thing altogether.
    Did Ray Charles and Stevie Wonder spend all their time thinking, what is this Dorian mode, does it fit with this minor pentatonic, or did they just think this sounds nice, wonder what it would sound like if I move my first finger here instead? 

Ray Charles studied classical music as a child, to a pretty high level.
  • Regarding lessons,