Is anyone here self taught

What's Hot

Comments

• I don't say do not learn musical theorey, only don't worry about if you don't as plenty of people make great music without learning it all.
    I know where my basic root is at all times and I can get around the neck, mainly using double stops or in my view collection of notes that fit together, someone else might call it a scale. 
    I seem to go glassy eyed when people try to teach me theorey, I really struggle with it. But for a while a local guitar tutor who is a shit hot player and knows all the stuff(and it shows) was playing in my band video of him on YT with me, I asked him what should I be learning, as I said I think I would have been a better guitarist if I had had lessons, he told me, maybe you would know more, but would you be the guitarist you are now? With my style and lack of knowledge I do not rate myself however I am often asked how I play stuff, and scales etc that I use, because I sound different to most local players, make that all local players.
    So yes, maybe I would be a better musician/guitarist knowing more theory and harmony etc and I certainly am not knocking anyone who has learnt it all going through the grades etc which is extremely tough, but I certainly do not want young players to be put off guitar lessons by too much theory as well. 

i am mistaken in Stevie Wonder and Ray Charles, daft mistake, I was just trying to make a point that not all musicians have studied music to produce great music, some people have it naturally.

I have a very cack handed technique that is bad even for me to watch, and I am too old to change it all now even if I wanted to. But I get by. 
    ;)
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom