Where do I start

What's Hot
So been playing in my band for about 14 years an we are pretty successful on the local circuit o pubs wedding and parties.

Firstly - I'm a drummer by trade, and then a self taught guitarist.

The time had come to step it up a bit though. I'm not naturally talented and learn most things by ear - if you asked me to play something in the key of G I wouldn't know where to start - I've no idea about modes and I know the penatatonic scale - roughly.

Ask me a to play a specific chord like a Gm7 and although I probably play it - I wouldn't know what it is.

Are there any online tutors or tools I can use? I work away from home an awful lot and could utilise the hotel room down time by trying to sharpen my act a bit

I've tried local guitar teachers in the past but they never really know what to do with me as I have 14+ years of bad habits!!!

You lot seem to know what your talking about - can anyone help???
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• Regardless of what you feel are your current limits you obviously possess enough skill to be in your make a relative success of your situation.  One question would be are you looking to learn to just improve yourself or is there a specific something you feel you need to be able to do to push forward from your current gigging perspective? 

If it's solely self improvement then it's open house.  However if there is something that you feel would help your band improve try and target that initially.  There are plenty of guys who make a success at being really good at a limited set of things.  What specifically would you like to be able to do that you currently can't?

My muse is not a horse and art is not a race.
  • octatonicoctatonic Frets: 33791
    Study the major scale, how to harmonise the major scale and how to modulate through all keys using the cycle of 5ths.

It is better if you have someone to take you through it, rather than working it out yourself.