Epic fails?

What's Hot
2»

Comments

• mike_lmike_l Frets: 5700
    I played a small public(!) gig with the band today.  Rehearsal / sound check was promising.   Gig was a disaster.   Set list had me playing high gain lead tune in between clean ish rhythm numbers.  Well that was the plan.  What I found of course, when I launched bravely into the lead riff was that I couldn't in a hurry dial in the right gain/vol/master/guitar vol - nowhere f'ing near.  Hideously embarrassing and then panic just stopped the fingers from functioning at all.  too many flaming settings on the amp - I now get what the f*** pedals are for.  Dumbass.  Feel free to take the piss (I am a beginner though), offer some advice or cheer me up by sharing stories of your own defeats.   
    The best one is the classic switch to clean tone for the solo instead of lead tone...not that i have done that...multiple times ...or anything...ahem
    You're not alone, I've never done this either.............

Ringleader of the Cambridge cartel, pedal champ and king of the dirt boxes (down to 21) 

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • peteripeteri Frets: 1283
    edited July 2016
    All great advice here.

My tip - get a setup at home where you can have three basic tones with no hassle.

For example - I have clean, crunch and solo (crunch being like AC/DC level).

Most songs (All?) can be made to work with one of these.

Then work out alternative routes to those sounds - for example, I currently use a Peavey classic 30 and a small pedal board, so my 'dream' way of getting these are:

1. Clean amp
     2. ThorpyFX gunshot
    3. Lead Channel on amp with Tubescreamer

My backup to each

1. Thorpy Gunshot with guitar volume right back, or the lead channel on the amp
     2. Lead channel on amp with guitar volume right back
     3. Thorpy Gunshot with tube screamer

This process should then get you thinking - ok what can go wrong?