Worst pedal you've owned?

What's Hot

Comments

• stickyfiddlestickyfiddle Frets: 26920
    Off the top of my head I've only had 2 pedals I just couldn't get to sound good at all: Bad Monkey and EHX Little Big Muff.

I'd bet I could work the monkey much better now than when I was a noob, but the LBMpi was just horrid. Great at any setting in isolation, but switching it on with a band was like turning your amp off, it got lost so much. Urgh :(
    The Assumptions - UAE party band for all your rock & soul desires
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • not_the_djnot_the_dj Frets: 7306
    Boss AC-2 (I think it was the 2). Lots of grand ideas of using it with the band for easily add acoustic tones without the bother if bringing another guitar. Never got a decent sound from it at gig volume in the band mix.
  • benvallbenvall Frets: 83
    I had the boss hyper metal pedal. I kept it for years as my mum bought it for me. Final sold it after not using it for 10+ years. It was fine when I first started playing, I didn't know any better.
  • mike_lmike_l Frets: 5700
    edited January 2014
    Off the top of my head I've only had 2 pedals I just couldn't get to sound good at all: Bad Monkey and EHX Little Big Muff.

I'd bet I could work the monkey much better now than when I was a noob, but the LBMpi was just horrid. Great at any setting in isolation, but switching it on with a band was like turning your amp off, it got lost so much. Urgh :(

The bad monkey works best (for me) as a boost (extra gain/bottom end) for a dirty Marshall/Blackstar type amp. Used this way I love it.

I don't like it into a clean amp so much.

Ringleader of the Cambridge cartel, pedal champ and king of the dirt boxes (down to 21) 

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • ThePrettyDamnedThePrettyDamned Frets: 7484
    edited January 2014
    This is quite an interesting thread. So far, a couple of pedals I quite like have come up.