Beginner's woes

What's Hot
I've been self-learning electric guitar for a few months now - mostly strumming, but have tried playing a few simple tabs. As you'd expect from a beginner I'm quite slow at chord changes at times but improving (very gradually), and usually manage 20-30 mins every evening. I've been using the JustinGuitar beginner's book (based on his website), which I've found to be pretty good (speaking as someone who doesn't normally like following courses and tutorials).

While I'm tempted to move on to his intermediate book, the author himself and a couple of guitarist friends have recommended that I now spend the next few months improving my strumming and picking - get faster, etc (in fact the author recommends 6-12 months before moving on!).
I appreciate that I need to walk before I can run, but I don't want my interest to fizzle out during this time, as it feels like I'm just practising/doing exercises rather than learning. I'd thought about lessons, but wonder if it would be a waste at this stage. I'm sure a teacher wouldn't have me doing anything new, and would probably end up practicising chord changes and simple tabs - which is what I'm doing now. Having said this, I would certainly consider lessons in the future, once I had improved on the basics.

What would folks on here recommend? How did you learn and reach the level you are at now?

Unfortunately I was watching a few YouTube videos of practice amp reviews last night. Watching seasoned pros and shop staff shredding away, or effortlessly switching between different styles (blues, rock, country, etc) is quite disheartening to a beginner, and I'm wondering how I could ever reach that level. I appreciate that it must take years of practise but I'm curious to know how you make that leap from just strumming or playing tabs off the internet, to that kind of level of playing? Do you learn from books, tutors, watching performances (I can't see how, given the speed their fingers move!).