Tone Advice on Rain by The Cult...

What's Hot
andypandyp Frets: 332
Hi folks.

Sorry if this is in the wrong place, but it seemed like a good place to put this...

I've been playing for 18 months now and generally it's improving very well on an almost daily basis. I've mostly been playing what I'd call "straight-up rock" like AC/DC etc. and blues licks and stuff so finding a tone hasn't really been an issue so far. Wee bit of drive, wee bit of reverb and a wee bit of chorus for one or two things, and that's it.

But... I've been learning Rain, by the Cult lately and I'm finding that my version sounds very "thin". I tried dialling in a bit of very short delay on my Blackstar ID Core 10 and it sounds like I'm heading in the right direction but the effects on the Blackstar are pretty basic and it's hard to know what the hell I'm actually dialling in. My main practice is on my DSL 5 but I don't have a delay pedal so my experimenting is quite limited, plus I'm not sure yet exactly what it is I'm looking to do to get the tone.

Does anyone know this song well enough to help me with what effect I'm looking for? To me it sounds like it's a lot of reverb and a delay to thicken it, but I really don't know. The playing side is coming on well but without getting a better grasp of the tone I'm trying to dial in, it's quite hard to get it sounding right.

Any help would be great. Apologies for my novice-ness on this.

Andy
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• mike_lmike_l Frets: 5700
    A Boss digital delay, chorus and phaser will point you in the right direction for FX.
    Billy uses Boss pedals as they're reliable and easy to replace if they break/get lost (his reasons).
    A small amount of drive will put you in the ball park.

Also he uses a Gretsch White Falcon (I think) so a semi-acoustic guitar with not to powerful pickups will be close.

Ringleader of the Cambridge cartel, pedal champ and king of the dirt boxes (down to 21)