Playing faster blues licks?

RandallFlaggRandallFlagg Frets: 13938
edited September 2016 in Technique
I'm not a hugely proficient lead player, I know the blues scale but struggle sometimes to put fast flourishes together, but I am slowly getting better at blues lead and licks, however I notice that I rarely use my little finger for blues runs. If I want to play in a Joe Bonamassa style is it essential to get the little finger involved?

I find that I play with thumb wrapped over a lot of the time and using my little finger makes me put thumb behind neck and lose my instinctual string dampening ability.

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• It's not essential but it's 25% of your capacity you're ignoring.  Can you play the riffs you want slowly, are the notes under your fingers, can you access the pull offs and hammer ons?  If so, it's not technique, it's speed i.e. Just Play it quicker!  If you can't play it slowly and accurately, you maybe need to consider getting back to basics and deconstruct your approach. 
  • Yes i think it's speed so probably just need to play more for longer and build up

• IIRC Gary Moore didn't use his pinky at all. Playing fast blues runs seems a common thing in the lick library range so perhaps have a look on there. A lot of that kind of playing is standard licks that you can practice to get up to tempo and then throw into solos. I think Otis Grand said there are only about 50 blues licks and everything else is just how you combine them, key and tempo. He is in the tradition of guitarists like the three Kings whereas JoBo is throwing in those Eric Johnson type things sometimes when he plays fast so they are more rock/ fusion oriented licks, maybe what you need the little finger for (!).
    Tipton is a small fishing village in the borough of Sandwell. 
  • Just watched a couple of Bonamassa's jam tracks and he rarely uses his little finger and plays with his thumb over. I will keep practicing!