blues scale for 4th chord

What's Hot
hi all,

im studying the blues at the moment. i understand the scales and the chords but when i go to the 4th chord, the scales just don't sound "right" although theoretically i am using the right scales.  im wondering how you approach the chord.
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• octatonicoctatonic Frets: 33780
    Which blues progression?
  • John_PJohn_P Frets: 2749
    I probably try to use target notes based on the chord and texture I'm aiming for as well as the blues scale from that key.  

What scales are you using?   
  • octatonic said:
    Which blues progression?

12 bar blues
  • John_P said:
    I probably try to use target notes based on the chord and texture I'm aiming for as well as the blues scale from that key.  

pentatonic
    pentatonic blues
    started to experiment with major blues
    finest1 said:
    octatonic said:
    Which blues progression?

12 bar blues
    Yes, I know that.
    Is it a minor blues, a dominant blues, a major blues progression with a dominant V chord?

I suggest you look at targeting chord tones too.
  • BradBrad Frets: 658
    If you're doing a dominant blues you can try the 'minor 6 pentatonic' over the IV chord. It's just the minor pentatonic but replacing the b7 with the 6th. In the key of A...

Minor Pent - A C D E G
    Minor 6 Pent - A C D E F#

There are a few options but this will enable you to outline the IV chord (D9 sound) whilst staying in a familiar pentatonic land. Robben Ford uses this a lot. 

Brad said:
    If you're doing a dominant blues you can try the 'minor 6 pentatonic' over the IV chord. It's just the minor pentatonic but replacing the b7 with the 6th. In the key of A...

Minor Pent - A C D E G

There are a few options but this will enable you to outline the IV chord (D9 sound) whilst staying in a familiar pentatonic land. Robben Ford uses this a lot. 

Good suggestion.