going from a 4x12 to a 2x12

gubblegubble Frets: 1746
Due to some personal issues i've lost the use of my estate car and have had to replace it with something small meaning i can no longer use my 4x12 for gigs (it's a Line 6 4x12)

Money's kinda tight so I'm probably going to have to replace it with the Harley Benton of G4M 2x12.

I've never used a 2x12 before and i'm wondering how it will effect the sound of my live rig. I'm using a Line 6 Duoverb head (which i really like) and always love the sound of the 4x12.

Also feel free buy my 4x12 which is in the classified's section. I need it gone fast so i'm thinking £100 isn't a bad deal for someone.
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• I'm not familiar with the G4M model, but I have tried the G212 Vintage with V30s.  It is a really good cab for the money, to get something better you need to spend a considerable amount more.

The 2x12s sounding closest to 4x12s are the ones that are the same width and depth as 4x12s.  If you happen to spot a second hand Mesa Rectifier 2x12, Orange PPC212 (closed back) or a Zilla Fatboy / Zilla Super Fatboy within your budget those would be what I'd recommend.  But if you can't afford those the Harley Benton G212 Vintage is still a good cab and with it being smaller it might be preferable due to your transport situation.

2x12s don't tend to have the same 'width' of sound as a 4x12, but the larger well built closed back ones have almost as much thump.  The biggest problem tends to be hearing the highs.  If you set both cabs on the floor you'll be much more off axis to the 2x12 which will fire more at your ankles (whereas a 4x12, even a straight one, will fire much higher if you stand in front of it).  If this is an issue you could try to find something to put your cab on top of to raise it up more.  People use all sorts - cab flightcase, beer crates, chairs etc.
  • not_the_djnot_the_dj Frets: 7306
    edited January 2014