Soundcard recommendations

What's Hot
I've been using a Focusrite Saffire 6 USB for about four years. It got rave reviews when it came out and is still great quality for the price. Does anyone have any experience in this area? I am wondering whether i can significantly improve the audio quality of my home studio recordings with a better external soundcard, without going crazy budgetwise. Any ideas? I rang my local PMT store and they were quite helpful but naturally wanted to sell me something for a grand.

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• The next step up from that level of interface is probably something along the lines of the TC Impact Twin, but you might need to get a firewire card.

I've got a Twin, and I honestly can't recommend it highly enough. Only problem is that it only has 4 inputs (plus another 8 over ADAT). If that doesn't bother you, then get one :)
    <space for hire>
  • JohnPerryJohnPerry Frets: 1619
    Just done some reading up on that...looks like a great steer, that. Thanks. If you were to replace that, what would you then go up to?

• Honestly? Not a clue. It does everything I want, the preamps are awesome, it has a great (albeit limited) compressor, great parametric EQ and the ever-handy monitoring reverb.

Given the fact that I really like the TC hardware and the software that comes with it, I guess the only real upgrade option is the same thing (roughly) with more I/O - the Studio Konnekt 48. I did wonder about the MOTU 828, but anecdotal evidence suggests that the preamps aren't so hot.

Beyond that...I've no idea; I've never really looked into it, mostly because my budget just doesn't allow for that kind of extravagance ;)
    <space for hire>
  • ecc83ecc83 Frets: 1630
    I too have read good things about the TC interface but buying anything Firewire these days is a bit fraught, the protocol looks to be dying out.