Eeek! Guitar has overtaken bass

I was - still am - a bass guitar player. Having initially started briefly on 6 string guitar during childhood but soon switched to bass, then played it for 30 years. A gradual decline in frequency of playing meant that there's been long periods (like, months..) when I'd not picked it up at all. More recently with a lot of time on my hands, I started becoming interested in playing music and bought an electric guitar (....then another).

So I've been playing (6 string) guitar properly for about 3 months now. I feel I have gotten on well with adapting/relearning/transferring the musicianship and techniques onto it, so much so that I felt it gave a real boost to starting off once I'd overcome the physicality of the instrument. And I've been playing the bass less and less as a consequence. And now its come to a point where I think I've caught up and possibly overtaken my skill on the guitar in 3 months, what I'd spent 30 years spending/wasting time playing the bass. The reasons I reckon are numerous:

1. Bass is REALLY BORING to practice and listen to on its own. In comparison, a guitar makes sweet melodic sounds
2. Although I'd had bass lessons in the past, I was mainly self taught
3. Although I've done loads like played in bands etc, the bass parts are basically really simple/unchallenging
4. I've approached (6 string) guitar in a much more technical way, such as structuring my practice sessions, keeping a note of progress, taking lessons, etc.

What's reinforced it is getting a simple audio interface so now I can record simple tracks and listen back. Mainly my aim was to record a chord progression, then practice playing lead guitar/improvising over it. But of course, its not too complicated to add a bass track too to liven it up. Maybe I'm being a bit hard on myself but some of the bass I've listened back to just sound sloppy. Maybe I'm having a bad day?