Newbie to forum and recording

What's Hot
Hello.  Im new.  Just found this forum and it looks great.

Ive been playing both electric and acoustic guitar for forty years or more now.  Well I say playing, some may say its mainly making lots of noise. :#

I am semi retired now and since I have had more time I have started getting into recording stuff just for my own entertainment really and to annoy friends etc.  =)  I'm totally clueless when it comes to gear and the tech side of playing but i am looking at the best ways to record the stuff I do and make a half decent job of it.

At the moment at home I have a PA and a PC which I used with a line out of the PA To record tracks in the freebee Software Audacity.  I have sort of got my head around that and the results are kind of ok but I am looking to be able to improve on that.  One thing I struggle with is getting the sound that actually comes out of the PA to sound as good when recorded.  This is especially noticeable with acoustic recordings.  You can tweak things to an extent in audacity but it has its limits.  Same goes for vocals as well.

So what is out there?  What sort of gear and software / hardware to I need to be looking at to take things to the next stage?  Hopefully without having to spend a fortune?

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• horsehorse Frets: 1568
    I suppose you need an audio interface of some kind for the pc, to use instead of the pa and pc line in. What will suit you best will depend on what you want to record, eg do you have a mic for vocals and acoustic, do you use an amp or modeller etc for electric?
  • Winny_PoohWinny_Pooh Frets: 7763
    edited September 2016
    Budget? Whats your upper limit?
    Recording what? Guitars, drums, bass, vocals?
  • octatonicoctatonic Frets: 33782
    Welcome to the forum.