Actually learning something

What's Hot
Not being a gigging musician, I find it hard to motivate myself to sit down and learn something. A complete solo for example. I hear something interesting on the radio, Soundhound helps find it and I decide to learn the chords. Or the solo. Less than half way through this bit of study, I get bored/sick of the song and Soundhound has found another interesting song. And this cycle goes on and on. Learning bit and pieces, forgetting them the next day and getting nowhere. How can I break out of this loop? Thanks.
Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results. [Albert Einstein]

Nil Satis Nisi Optimum

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• mike_lmike_l Frets: 5700
    Learn 2 things together, that way you can alternate between them.

So one evening (or whenever your practise is) work on piece A, the next piece B, and so on.

Ringleader of the Cambridge cartel, pedal champ and king of the dirt boxes (down to 21) 

• octatonicoctatonic Frets: 33725
    Practice logs are the way to do it.
    It doesn't have to be overly regimented- just write a list of things to work on and work on them regularly.
    If you play something around 20 times a day for 20 days (give or take) then it goes into long term memory.

There are songs that I know I will never, ever forget because of this- I must have played One Vision by Queen about a billion times- that is never leaving me.

Pieces I've learned and only played a few times I forget pretty quickly.
  • Play with other people. There are plenty who like to play but not perform.

Motivation is not letting the other person down.
  • Become a gigging musician. It's the only solution.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • Do what I did/do - don't bother with the solos, just learn the chords and strum along.