First pedal build - making a RAT clone pedal from a kit

What's Hot
Figured I'd start this thread now, while I'm still getting the various bits I need together. I have some soldering experience gained over the last 8-ish years modding guitar wiring and putting together partscasters. But I've not done any work with printed circuit boards or any other electronics, so I really consider myself a fresh-faced newby to the world of pedal making. Anyhow, I'm starting this thread to document my experiences (good or bad) as I attempt to put together a RAT clone type pedal from a kit. Probably seems ridiculously straight forward to those with more experience, but at this point the idea feels a bit daunting to me. We'll see how it goes though.

So far I've bought/ordered a couple of things:

Variable temperature soldering station from Maplins: http://www.maplin.co.uk/p/60w-mains-lcd-solder-station-a55kj

and the kit itself, from Fuzzdog's Pedal Parts: http://shop.pedalparts.co.uk/Rodent_distortion/p847124_7398084.aspx

- I'm going for a 4 control version with the Ruez mod option, and a switch for vintage (silicon) and turbo (LED) clipping modes. I've opted for a black powder-coated enclosure, and some nice orange control knobs, which should look cool and a little different, not that this is all that important.

I did consider also buying kit for a Klon buffer unit, just to have something fairly simple to start with and gain practice on, but I do already have a decent buffer on my pedal board, and I don't really need another. I may get myself a bit of strip board, and practice my soldering technique a bit on that before starting on the kit though.

A few other bits of kit to buy, which I hope to get sorted this week, but no rush, and I'm going to take my time and try to do as good and careful a job as I can, and hopefully have a nice working pedal at the end of the process.

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments