NSID

What's Hot
New Soldering Iron Day...

My 18w Antex crapped out, dead heating element... I went to Maplin during the day and found a 15w with a nice point that had been used... so I took it to the counter and said "it's been used but I like the bit" - he went to the stock brought a new one out and found the bit was different... so he took the tip off the new one, slid on the tip I wanted, knocked off £3 and we were both happy.

I love this iron! It's so much lighter, delicate - I'm seeing improvements in my soldering already :)

I took it home and built a Pedalparts Orange Squeezer - now I've a lot of experience with this pedal as I've made 3 now... this one has a 1n4148 diode in it and seems quieter and less twangy... I'll be swapping out the diode post haste, also may replace the taller components - the trim pot and the 47 uF elec capacitor or it's never going to fit in a 1590a :)

A sig-nat-eur? What am I meant to use this for ffs?! Is this thing recording?
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• Me too!

A 30 watter from... Er... Cash converters.  

I wasn't spoiled for choice, but 30 watts should be fine for most jobs and should have enough power to do the backs of pots.  Hopefully.
  • frankusfrankus Frets: 4719
    I've a 30 watter I use for pots and stuff - or a butane powered portable for the same job - the dainty 15 watter is like a pencil :)
  • Well, it fixed my rubbish soldering fine, so I'm happy!

I managed to successfully build a Fuzz pedal with the 4) watter. How on earth, I've no idea...
    1reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
    I'm a clumsy chap when it comes to electrics - so I kinda need all the help I can get :)
  • johnnyurqjohnnyurq Frets: 1368
    Belated one for I actually got it about a week ago.

It was on special at £40.

V happy with it.
    That looks really professional - wow!
  • chillidoggychillidoggy Frets: 17136