Classical or Electric?

What's Hot
beed84beed84 Frets: 2403
Not sure this is the most appropriate place to post this topic, but here it is anyway...

I've been playing guitar for 13 years and enjoy pretty much all genres of music.  Playing wise I lean mainly towards rock and blues.

Anyway, in September, just as I began university, I decided to satisfy my desire to start classical.  I took a couple of lessons with my tutor who also taught me electric and found I really enjoyed it.  So much so, I parted ways with my electrics to avoid any distraction.  If I was going to learn classical, I aimed to do it properly.

For three months, I have enjoyed the challenge.  Also, the upshot of learning to read music and the wonderful reward of being able to play pretty tunes without the need for anyone else is great.  I'd like to think it's going well.

However, since Christmas, I started to get an itch.  An itch to want to play electric again.  I spent the best part of the Christmas holiday being a guitar pervert, constantly browsing electrics on ebay, gumtree and, of course, this forum.

I finally found a 80s Aria Pro II Les Paul, which went completely against the idea of me getting a strat.  I just needed THAT SOUND in my life. A few days after ordering it, the guitar finally arrived to my utter joy.

This is where the problem begins.  I got it out of its box, tuned it up, plugged in and had a quick play.  Everything was how it should be and it plays great.  Result.  Later, I treated it to a clean and a new set of strings.  All good.  Following this, I put on some backing tracks and went for it. Even though I was a little bit rusty, I hadn't lost my skills and after a few minutes in, I was back in to it.