Getting in a band question

What's Hot
Been trying for ages to get into a covers band. I'm happy to play either second guitar (it never did Ronnie Wood any harm, nor anyone in the Foo Fighters) or simple bass (yes I know I'm not a proper bassist, but if it gets me the gig...)

I seem to have landed myself a gig as a second guitarist in an acoustic country rock thing. (I say seem to because we've only had the one get together and everyone seems happy thus far.)

The trouble is the guy who's leading it wants to pick all the songs. That's not an issue, someone has to take charge to avoid chaos.

But the songs he's chosen are really dull. They're big hits, but fuck me, I got bored listening to them once, never mind the severalty times I'd need to in order to learn them. Really stodgy west coast stuff. Not even the exciting west coast stuff.*

So to my question - do I suck it up in order to be 'in' something and then transfer when I've got some half decent gigging experience or say "Nah, not for me" now and keep looking?

*This is entirely just my opinion - everyone is free to disagree with me, I get that, but it is just my opinion and no offence is intended to any fans.
If you must have sex with a frog, wear a condom. If you want the frog to have fun, rib it.
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• HoofHoof Frets: 491
    edited November 2016
    My advice would be don't be in a band you don't like unless there's some serious money in it.

What's the point? You won't be doing the band or the songs justice, you'll be wasting their time as you'll be looking to jump ship as soon as a more suitable band comes along and more important than anything, you won't be enjoying yourself. If the band get wind of that you'll probably be fired anyway.
  • Been there, done that got the t shirt ( literally...).