NAD: Marshall Code 25

What's Hot
andypandyp Frets: 332
edited January 2017 in Amps
I know these have had a mixed reception from folk, but I've been contemplating a Code 25 for a few months as an upgrade to my Blackstar ID:Core 10. My home / work arrangements mean that the kit I play most (DSL 5 and SG Faded) is up at work so I was only using the wee Blackstar at weekends and mostly at night once the kids are in bed, so a small portable modelling amp fits the bill well. But I began to fall out with it over the course of this year as it just never sounded quite as I wanted and I can't stand the ISF thing, which is the only tone knob on the model I have.

The Codes were on backorder for ages through the summer when I first looked for one, but I saw them appearing in places in autumn although I sort of wrote them off and decided to stick with the Blackstar. That was until I stumbled over them online yesterday going for £139 at Merchant City Music in Glasgow...

I decided to go and check one out today and (predictably) I was impressed by it and promptly bought one. Having had a play about with it for a couple of hours this afternoon, I'm absolutely delighted. It's a fair step up in my view to the Blackstar on all fronts. It sounds great and now I've cracked the Bluetooth connectivity (which was a faff somehow), I've got my head around how to adjust the settings etc. It's got more options than I know what to do with at the moment though. The 100 factory presets is total overkill, a fair few are no use for me but there are a good few (25-30ish) that sound cracking straight away and I'd be happy playing them exactly as they are. How the actual models compare to the "real" amps though, I can't say, but all the ones I've tried sound superb and noticeably different when you change a setting.