First amp build. Any help appreciated.

Since recently picking up an EC vibro champ I've started getting really facinated by these little amps and have decided to take the plunge and have a go at building a 5F1 champ.  

So... where do I start!?  I have zero experience so any advice, links to helpful sites, threads, videos, books would be extremely welcome.  

I'd like the finished product to be top quality so opinions on where to source the best parts would be appreciated.  Any good kits available or is it better (and more satisfying) to start sourcing parts myself?

Hoping this will be the first step of a lifelong obsession...  I'm based in Box, Wiltshire (just outside Bath) so if any locals fancy sharing their knowledge please get in touch.
Good trades/sales with: Pluckbuddy, JDE, xXBADGERXx, Brize, alanchanxd, NigelP, Loobs, BusterCrabb, jimkehoe
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• MtBMtB Frets: 922
    edited January 2017
    First things first, you say you have little experience, but can you solder? Can you solder well - ie. make a good joint reliably? If not, then I'd start here. There are plenty of on line tutorials, but unless you can master this then you're going to waste your time making an amp kit.

Do you have all of the required equipment - soldering iron (25watts) and sponge, cutters, thin nose pliers, tweezers, wire strippers, table vice (or similar), screwdrivers, small adjustable spanner, wire wool. 'Cos your going to need at least all of these.

Do you know the symbols used in simple electrical circuit diagrams? If not then bush up on this.