Best Strat project pick ups

What's Hot
Hi folks. 
I am new to the pages - thanks for having me!
Wondering what your suggestions for pick ups are for a Strat project. I already have assembled a Japanese Fender neck, Squier body with unspecified Squier p'ups.
They are very noisy at performance volume and rather "plastic". Can you recommend any replacements??

Also, what are peoples thoughts on the Eric Johnson tone mod?

Thanks!
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• sweepysweepy Frets: 4159
    With anything like this it depends on your budget, I've seen sets of Bareknuckles go for £100-120, these are a very good pickups  indeed. If your body is routed for a humbucker n the bridge one option is to drop a standard humbucker in there, new scratchplate would be £12, so you have options
  • impmannimpmann Frets: 12649
    Mojo.
    Never Ever Bloody Anything Ever.

• stickyfiddlestickyfiddle Frets: 26753
    Rio Grande Midbottom set (or any of their strat sets, frankly). They're astonishingly underrated.
    The Assumptions - UAE party band for all your rock & soul desires
  • paulnb57paulnb57 Frets: 3044
    Im a fan of Bare Knuckles and Creamery pickups,  my favourite combo is Bare Knuckle Mothers Milks at Neck and Middle, with a Creamery Strat size P90 at the bridge, wired so the second tone is on the bridge pickup....my Strat heaven....
    Stranger from another planet welcome to our hole - Just strap on your guitar and we'll play some rock 'n' roll

• axisusaxisus Frets: 28280
    My fave strat pups are Kinman noiseless. Pretty expensive though
  • hubobuloushubobulous Frets: 2352
    The Area series from DiMarzio. Sound great and noiseless
  • RandallFlaggRandallFlagg Frets: 13929
    Welcome @BobTheSalmon but there's something fishy about you...

1reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • McTootMcToot Frets: 2041
    edited January 2017