Help to build something simple?

What's Hot
hotpickupshotpickups Frets: 1820
Well I was told it was simple but I have no knowledge or trust myself to do it right or safely.

I was going to go for an attenuator but I have discovered the use I want one for all I would need is one of these:-

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/L-Pad-Attenuator-50W-8-Ohm-Wirewound-Volume-Control-/331244213682?hash=item4d1fb195b2:g:z6UAAOxy38tTmBDS

However, as said I'm next to useless at such things. It's simply to reduce the volume of my J20 to bedroom levels etc. If I bought the bits and got them shipped to anyone here who could wire it all up for me plus I'll pay them for their time would anyone be up for that? As long as it doesn't damage my amp or cost an earth – pun not intended :)

Link to my trading feedback:  http://www.thefretboard.co.uk/discussion/59452/
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• ecc83ecc83 Frets: 1630

I have not handled one myself but ICBM has said I am sure that those L pads are NOT actually rated at 50 watts and that figure applies to the overall power handling of a two way speaker, the pot being used merely to balance the tweeter level.

A 20W valve amp could put out almost twice that if hardly pressed and that pot might only have an honest rating of 10W.

Dave. (love to help BTW but no longer really can)

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • p90foolp90fool Frets: 31557
    I have a 100w L-pad I've never risked on any guitar amp over 12watts.
  • p90fool said:
    I have a 100w L-pad I've never risked on any guitar amp over 12watts.
    Are they risky then? Mine is a 20watt amp
  • normula1normula1 Frets: 640
    I've a 100 watt LPad in my 5 watt Laney and it gets quite warm so I wouldn't risk using a 50 watt one.
  • @ICBM  ?
  • hotpickupshotpickups Frets: 1820
    edited February 2017