1988 Rat 2 a component possibly fritzed?

What's Hot
builttospillbuilttospill Frets: 456
edited February 2017 in FX
So I was checking out the circuit board of my recently purchased vintagey Rat 2 and on close inspection it looks like one of the components looks either damaged or possibly burnt out.
I am not an expert in electronics or circuits but can anyone tell me if this is something to be concerned about? is it worth getting fixed? Also can anyone tell me what the pictured component is? The pedal works but the OCD in me is now wondering if I'm not getting the full potential from this pedal. please see link/picture below, I've highlighted the culprit with a red circle. As always any help would be greatly appreciated!

http://i.imgur.com/7jbOXeG.jpg
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• I think it might be the 47 Ohm  series resistor on the 9v rail that has got scorched. If it works, then it's not open circuit (it would be completely dead if it was) but it's worth replacing it with a new one, as it may well be physically fragile and could snap if the pedal is subjected to a jolt.
     I haven't managed to find a clear enough picture of a Rat 2 PCB of the same revision to get the resistor value off, as yet. I'll let you know as soon as I do.
    My wife asked me to stop singing Wonderwall.
    I said maybe.....
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • Actually, I'm pretty certain it is the 47 Ohm resistor on the 9v rail, and it's a fairly common occurrence, caused by using the wrong polarity power supply.

My wife asked me to stop singing Wonderwall.
    I said maybe.....
  • I think it might be the 47 Ohm  series resistor on the 9v rail that has got scorched. If it works, then it's not open circuit (it would be completely dead if it was) but it's worth replacing it with a new one, as it may well be physically fragile and could snap if the pedal is subjected to a jolt.