Picked up guitar again after many years

JamieD110JamieD110 Frets: 0
edited August 2021 in Guitar
Hey guys. I started playing again after not playing for several years. I got a strat pack from a friend for a hundred bucks. I bought a looper pedal and an overdrive pedal. I've been back at it for a month or so and just starting to sound okay again. Gitarre Klingelton
Anyway, I plan to blow my income tax return on an amp and new guitar. I'll have about $1200 and maybe could throw in a couple hundred more if I need to. I was thinking about a fender mustang 4 and a mim strat or an epiphone lp or maybe even an epiphone or gretch semi hollow body. Just wondering if anybody has any better suggestions or opinions. I play mostly blues when I'm at home, but can go play with some friends in a garage who play more rock stuff than blues. Also, I used to go to an am vets on Thursdays to play some old time country with some old guys I know on their open jam night.. Guitar Instrumental Solo: https://klingeltonemp3.info/guitar-instrumental-solo.htm
That's pretty broad, I know, but I'm hoping that's the beauty of a modeling amp.
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• Welcome! That sounds like a great plan to me. The mustangs are great practice amps, though t may also be worth looking at the latest Line 6 Spider (mark V) and the Boss Katanas as they're also getting great reviews. 

As for guitars, you can't really go wrong with any of those. A Strat and a Gretsch are quite different in terms of both sound and the physicality of playing (slinky, contoured solid body vs chunky and hollow) but both are great instruments so whichever you prefer you should have a great setup.
    The Assumptions - UAE party band for all your rock & soul desires
  • HAL9000HAL9000 Frets: 9655