valve life

What's Hot
I had a minor issue recently, swapped the existing valves with some 'spares' - all of which were working once, all of which looked almost brand new. It made no difference, so took it to an amp tech who has told me, he put ALL my premp valves in a valve tester and they were ALL duff i.e. not producing anything like what they should. I'm not a pro, but the amps get used regularly, but I always thought valves worked or didn't work. So this was a shocking discovery - they wear out and degrade. How could I not know this, is it true? Admittedly some were 5-6 years old, but how do you tell if they are on the way out, or should you simply replace after xx years? Cheers 
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• VoxmanVoxman Frets: 4723
    Yes, valves can degrade with use over time.  Even an amp that is working fine can sound better with a new set of valves, if the amp has been well used and the valves are older.  There's no absolute here, but with reasonably regular use, a tube change every 2-3 years will help keep your tone optimal. 
    I started out with nothing..... but I've still got most of it left (Seasick Steve)
  • ecc83ecc83 Frets: 1631

This an area, like so much to do with guitar amps, that could benefit from some hard research. Yes, valves lose "emission" over time but how that affects tone is largely unknown and untested AFAIK.

One parameter, "mu" or amplification factor does not change much with age so it seems unlikely that even quite degraded pre amp valves with have much effect? An output stage (inc' PI) that employs negative feedback will change much less as valves age.

Then there is "conformational bias". IF you have just shelled out 100 quid on a full set of bottles you WANT them to make a diff! Does not hurt certain valve tech's wallets to promulgate the idea either!

Dave.

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 2reaction image Wisdom
  • ICBMICBM Frets: 72316