Getting gigs as an originals band (also equipment)

What's Hot
ricorico Frets: 1220
Hi FB,

I have been playing with a new originals band for about four months now and we have around 10 songs with a good idea about which five will be recorded as an EP.

We are a foursome that are inspired by Sabbath/Motorhead/Orange Goblin/Deep Purple type heavy riff-driven songs. 

Our loose 'plan' is to record an EP in the coming months in order to use that as a promo to send to venues etc - is this a good way of doing it or should we be contacting venues first? 

Also how easy is it to just 'get' gigs? I used to play in a less heavy originals band when I was younger and myspace (yes it was that long ago!) was the ticket to getting gigs - we even played at the Hammersmith Palais!

We are based in Surrey/SW London.

On a somewhat related note, what is the general score regarding PA/backline etc? Is it expected that bands bring absolutely everything to gigs or can you be expected to share other bands' kit?

Sorry for the seemingly newbie questions!
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• digitalscreamdigitalscream Frets: 26560
    edited February 2017
    rico said:

On a somewhat related note, what is the general score regarding PA/backline etc? Is it expected that bands bring absolutely everything to gigs or can you be expected to share other bands' kit?
    As a general rule, most (almost all) venues that host multi-band venues will have a house PA. In the rare instance that it doesn't, whoever organised the gig (whether it's a local promoter or even a band) will provide it.

Gear sharing is generally done on a gig-by-gig basis. Occasionally you might find that the venue or organiser insists on all the bands at least using the same cabs for the sake of speeding up changeovers...most of the time, though, they'll leave that to the bands to sort it out between them.