Yamaha THR-10 vs Blackstar Core ID-10 ... decisions, decisions!

What's Hot
Steve922Steve922 Frets: 38
edited February 2017 in Amps

Its been about three months since buying my Yamaha strat and Blackstar Fly 3 practice amp. I fancy upgrading to a more versatile amp (more effects to play with) and these two amps seem to be 'in' at the moment as top buys.

So how can I choose?  As far as I know, the Yamaha has a fair bit more to play with but also costs a fair bit more! Like £255 to £100.  Money is not really an issue but I abhor wasting it!

The Yamaha has one feature which really appeals to me and that is the 5-button memory feature. I'm assuming that after spending 10 minutes getting just the sound I want for this song, I can sink the settings in memory to recall later. Right?     OTOH, the Blackstar seems way better Value-for-money, especially as I'm a beginner and not too particular about my sounds.

TBH, I don't really need anything better than my Fly 3 ; I just fancy it. I'm thinking I've got a bit of GAS that needs attending to?  STilll - I want something!

Any opinions to help me decide?

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• sweepysweepy Frets: 4158
    Boss Katana 100w 1x12 or the 50w 1x12 if you don't need so many fx at once 
  • markjmarkj Frets: 910
    Personally I hated the Yamaha that I bought around 3 weeks ago. I loved the clean settings but anything with drive sounded tinny and fizzy. Luckily for me the shop took the amp back and gave me a full refund.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 2reaction image Wisdom