A really stupid question

What's Hot
Please bear with me as this is a really stupid question and I will probably regret asking this by tomorrow.  At what experience level is it acceptable to term yourself as a guitarist? This came up in conversation with my neighbour tonight.  They referred to me as a guitarist, I said "no way am I good enough to be called that" so he asked me what the criteria was and I had to admit I could not tell him! 

Told you you it was a really stupid question! 
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• NiteflyNitefly Frets: 4910
    Good question, that, @Blackjack ;- I've been playing on and off for over 50years, and I certainly don't call myself one!  I'm just a bloke who plays guitar...

On a more serious note, I guess anyone who does it for a living would be entitled to it, or possibly someone who has studied and taken graded exams.

• Somebody can call themselves a driver if they've managed to get through their test unaided.

Equally, somebody can be called a guitarist if they can get through a song unaided.

Everything else is just different flavours.
    <space for hire>
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 2reaction image Wisdom
  • skunkwerxskunkwerx Frets: 6874
    If our world leaders can call themselves professionals and get away with it, then by that standard I am a guitarist. 

A fucking bad one. 

The only easy day, was yesterday...
  • The night I came home from my first paying gig my Dad told me I was now a guitarist.  I've been called a lot of other things but didn't get money for any of those.

“Theory is something that is written down after the music has been made so we can explain it to others”– Levi Clay

2reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
    Haha no i totally understand what you mean. 

Digitalscream is correct really.