Schematic Understanders, i need you!

What's Hot
timmysofttimmysoft Frets: 1962
Morning!
 I love the sound of my Peavey Prowler, but i'm finding the drive channel a little dark and bass heavy for my tastes, especially as i play in Drop C with heavy strings on humbuckers.

I'm really no expert when it comes to amp schematics, give me a wiring diagram for a subsea oil and gas termination and i'm golden but amps are just full of unicorns to me.

So what i'd like to do is add a global presence pot or maybe just a bright switch for the drive channel, but maybe theres some components relating to the drive channel i can change out to up the brightness and cut the bass a little?

The Prowler was the follow up to the Bravo, the circuit was then taken and modified for the 1st generation of Valveking amps.

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• ICBMICBM Frets: 72307
    Can you post the link to where you got the schematic? The resolution isn't good enough to read it in that screen shot. I can't find it on Peavey.com… (I may be looking in the wrong place.)

"Take these three items, some WD-40, a vise grip, and a roll of duct tape. Any man worth his salt can fix almost any problem with this stuff alone." - Walt Kowalski

"Only two things are infinite - the universe, and human stupidity. And I'm not sure about the universe." - Albert Einstein

• timmysofttimmysoft Frets: 1962
    Aha - yes, I can read that.

There are a couple of caps which will take top-end off the high-gain channel - C117 next to the Ultra Gain pot (but mostly when the gain is up a lot), and C105 and C149 after V2B. The value of R173 will also affect this.

Cutting one or more of those caps will brighten the amp up, but be careful - they may also be there to suppress instability. Make sure you can reconnect them if odd things happen…