Guitar Techniques?

What's Hot
Does anyone subscribe?  Want to know how useful you find it?
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• bigjonbigjon Frets: 680
    I don't subscribe, but I have been buying it and playing through every note in it since issue 2 in 1994. I enjoy it a bit less now that it has no song transcriptions, but it is still fantastically useful for it's breadth across a range of genres. For instance, the fusion special this month is a brilliant source of bebop jazz material of played with swing semiquavers.
    0reaction image LOL 1reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • StevepageStevepage Frets: 3037
    Not worth subscribing to. Better off buying tje odd issue that might have something of interest to you, unless you love going over the same blues lessons over and over again
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 2reaction image Wisdom
  • NiallseroreillyNiallseroreilly Frets: 504
    edited March 2017
    @bigjon do you find that learning the transcriptions improves your playing? I always feel with tab that it helps me play that isolated piece well but doesnt really inform my ear etc..
     I subscribe but whenever i start to learn something i always feel i would be better listening to the track and learning it that way. 
    Are there any tips youd recommend to get the best out of it?
  • robinbowesrobinbowes Frets: 3021
    I've got a load of back issues, if you fancy them?
    1reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • I've never found these sorts of magazines useful for learning in the manner intended. I often find the examples to be a bit contrived and sterile. I do think it's an excellent magazine though, and I find it useful for discovering players/bands I wouldn't find on my own. I enjoy the 60 seconds with, and instrumental inquisitions too.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • ElxElx Frets: 412