Alternate picking question

What's Hot
Hello!

I've started paying attention to my picking technique and I've noticed that when I am alternate picking I am not taking into account the rhythm groupings, note lengths or rests in songs I play.

I have added down and upstrokes to an example of a Rock School Grade 5 piece to show how I alternate pick.

Am I correct in thinking that I'm actually doing it wrong and it should actually be played as I've drawn below?

Any insight would be greatly appreciated!!
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• paul_c2paul_c2 Frets: 410
    Firstly, I am by no means an expert! So what I say is simply my own interpretation of things:

There is no strict "right" or "wrong" as long as the music comes out at the end. Bear this in mind. Having said that, obviously you can generate technical exercises to emphasise a particular technique, and if you did it differently than planned then the objective of the exercise is not met - even if the music comes out properly at the end....

I'd have said there's 2 ways of playing "alternate picking", one where its strictly alternate, and one where the downbeats are down and the upbeats are up. For the second way, your picking would want to be (in the piece example):

down down down down up down down up down down down up down

(apoligies if it looks messy - I should really rewrite the music and put the marks in)

Another way to explain it would be to imagine the piece is counted (rhythm) as

1 e & a  2 e & a  3 e & a  4 e & a  |  1 e & a  2 e & a  3 e & a  4 e & a

The 'e' and 'a' are the offbeat 1/16th notes - these would always be played "up". And the rest, the on beat 1/16 notes (ie all/any 1/8 notes) would be played down. Your hand would be regularly going up and down in a consistent way, but you'd only play when the notes occur, other times you'd lift your hand slightly to "fly over" the strings.