New Year Guitar Goals

What's Hot
Aside from buying more gear because it's new and shiny lol =)

I'm having something on an overhaul as I'm mostly self taught. I've been using Justin's awesome site to work on the basics and I'm tempted to buy some of his song books too.

I can tell you everything I know about music theory and sight.reading in one word.....nothing. So they're priorities. I'll be brushing up on ear training too.

Taking regular breaks to drool over new gear obviously lol

Twisted Imaginings - A Horror And Gore Themed Blog http://bit.ly/2DF1NYi

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• I'm continuing on standard notation reading, drop 2 chords, and all types of pentatonics.
  • To force myself to carry on working through the intermediate sections of Justin's lessons. I purchased some books and DVDs but got distracted from genuine practice by trying to learn songs but haven't stuck at anything to get them 100%. Need to find a better balance so I do both (learn songs and theory), not 1 or the other. I'd like to nail all 5 positions of the pentatonic scales so I can play up and down the neck without thinking. Trying to do all this in the evening after a day at work is tough going.
  • Flink_PoydFlink_Poyd Frets: 2490
    I think for me it will be to more deliberate and accurate with what I play, less aimless noodling. Main thing is to enjoy playing, it is my hobby afterall
    Nobody is guaranteed tomorrow.....

• I love playing but I'd like to have more of a clue than "Blues in A" lol. Last night I was thinking of mapping out scales on paper only using the note interval rather than the actual note. My reasoning is it'll ( hopefully ) help with the theory and stop my aimless noodling :)

• JayceeJaycee Frets: 287
    Ditto...... I have two books that I want to get through, both are on about mapping the fretboard.....
  • RolandRoland Frets: 8590