Bass suggestions

What's Hot

I've never owned a bass before but I am an experienced guitarist. Now that I'm no longer in a band I've come to the conclusion that I don't need all three of my guitars so I'm looking at buying a bass, partly for a bit of fun and partly because a local band have asked me to join on bass. To fund this purchase I'm going  to sell my 2013 Gibson Les Paul Studio in Ebony with gold hardware. The pickups have been upgraded to a handmade set from Catswhisker and it's fitted with gold Schaller strap locks. What would be a good bass to get for that sort of money? 

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• Winny_PoohWinny_Pooh Frets: 7731
    What style of music does said band play? Have you budgeted for an amp? Even if you have a PA when gigging you'll want one as a monitor and for rehearsals.
  • It's a covers band so they play all sorts. I'm unsure about an amp so far. With my guitars I use an Atomic AmpliFire that goes to the PA with a Laney IRT-X acting as a monitor but I'm unsure if I can also use a bass with this gear. I've written to both Laney and Atomic to find out.
  • MattBansheeMattBanshee Frets: 1498
    A second-hand Fender P or J would be a good, solid all-round option. 
  • JezWyndJezWynd Frets: 6021
    edited May 2017
    First thing to decide is probably scale length. Coming from guitar are you going to be comfortable with a full 34" scale? I use a Gibson SG bass, 30" scale, that I'm very happy with, easy to get around the fretboard and two pickups to give tonal variation. Fender do some short scale too so there's plenty of choice.