EMG Bass pickups?

What's Hot
TTonyTTony Frets: 27342
There is a risk that, after the temptation placed in my path by @Bridgehouse, I'll be acquiring a bass.

Or, at least, I'll be acquiring the parts to build a bass.

One option is the EMG PJ set of pickups.
http://www.emgpickups.com/pjset.html

I've no direct experience of EMG in guitars, although I've read various comments about them being sterile or too forceful.  

Are they better / different in a Bass?  Would you consider them, or is there an obviously much better option?
Having trouble posting images here?  This might help.
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• FelineGuitarsFelineGuitars Frets: 11494
    tFB Trader
    Their bass pickups are fine. Good clear sounding units.

Many guitars have a re-sale value. Some you'll never want to sell.
    Stockist of: Earvana & Graphtech nuts, Faber Tonepros & Gotoh hardware, Fatcat bridges. Highwood Saddles.

Pickups from BKP, Oil City & Monty's pickups.

Expert guitar repairs and upgrades - fretwork our speciality! www.felineguitars.com.  Facebook too!

• BridgehouseBridgehouse Frets: 24578
    Do you know if you prefer an active or passive sound to bass?

Active can sound a bit more modern, and of course gives more control over EQ, whereas passive tends to be the more classic 'traditional' bass tone..

If you think you do like the active sound, then there's nothing wrong with the EMG ones at all..
  • ToneControlToneControl Frets: 11788
    TTony said:
    There is a risk that, after the temptation placed in my path by @Bridgehouse, I'll be acquiring a bass.

Or, at least, I'll be acquiring the parts to build a bass.

http://www.emgpickups.com/pjset.html

I've no direct experience of EMG in guitars, although I've read various comments about them being sterile or too forceful.  

Are they better / different in a Bass?  Would you consider them, or is there an obviously much better option?