My Boss OD-1

What's Hot
builttospillbuilttospill Frets: 456

I'm not one for doing reviews, I'm not very good at it. I recently got hold of a 1980? Boss OD-1 from @rossyamaha. It's got the NEC 4558 8 pin chip and not the sought after 14 pin chip. It cost me £100. I've got a thing for Boss pedals at the moment 

My K-Line strat plugged into the OD-1 and my princeton reverb set clean, no other effects used. It was an instant fuck me! It's a highly addictive, beautiful, raunchy and nasty sounding pedal and yes! it sounds exactly like this https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K6L0OOUcTm4. First impressions, I would definitely describe the OD-1 as slightly tweedy sounding. Chords and single note playing sound fantastic and really stand out. I was getting some fairly convincing Neil Young rhythm tones but also bits of R.E.M Monster, Pavement, Arctic Monkeys & Joy Division.  Many other 80's/90's alternative rock bands also exist in this faded banana yellow box, the faded yellow colour reminds me of Big Bird from Sesame Street.