Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In with Google

Become a Subscriber!

Subscribe to our Patreon, and get image uploads with no ads on the site!

Read more...

I've been in a pentatonic-ridden plateau for a few years now...

What's Hot

Hey guys,

So I've been playing guitar since I was a young teenager, and I've always loved it and had a true passion for it. But after heading to university four years ago, I haven't had the time to invest the necessary amount of time on guitar in order to keep excelling. Long story short, I've been playing the same minor blues scale for literally four years now. I currently find myself in a position capable of investing a little bit more time into constructive practices for my music theory. 

So my question to you all is: whats next after I've butchered the pentatonic scales? I've tried to look at modes, but I struggled to get a grip on it. Have any of you ever gone through a similar situation? If so, I would love to hear some advice on how you got through it and continued to excel. I love the guitar, but I really don't want to be playing pentatonics my whole life. 

My guitar heroes are Jimi Hendrix, Kirk Hammett and John Mayer. Interesting combination, I know. But I figured I'd mention the style of music I want to be able to master. 

Cheers!

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• I use arpeggios in solos to break out of the pentatonic rut, and they highlight chord changes better. Modes are good but you have to know where the intervals are in relation to each other so its doesn't sound scale like when you solo.

The natural minor can be a good way to darken up a minor key solo too with an added 2nd and minor 6th.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • MayneheadMaynehead Frets: 1782