Decided to learn how to read music notation.

What's Hot
RockerRocker Frets: 4947
Mainly as a challenge to self.  I got a book on How to Read Music and found it heavy going as I struggled with the concepts and names of notes.  The book, probably correctly, advised not moving on by chapter 2 until I fully understand everything in chapters 1 and 2.  I read, re-read and re-read again chapters 1 and 2 and still struggling.  What I need is a 'leg up' to explain what I am missing.  There is a Music School in town, probably mainly used by children, that might be able to help.  I will call in and talk to them later this week.  When I started playing bass, I was lost.  I literally could not do anything with it apart from tune it.  A local music teacher called to my house every two weeks for a couple of months and he got me going.  He helped me to understand what a bass does in a band context and gave me the lowdown on what notes to play etc.  I will never be a great bass player but I can get by and I hope the music lessons will have the same impact.

My reason for learning to read notation is like the reasons mountain climbers give for scaling mountains - because it is there!
Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results. [Albert Einstein]

Nil Satis Nisi Optimum

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• thingthing Frets: 469
    Good luck and have a wisdom, once you can do it you'll wonder how you ever found it difficult!
    This is absurd.  You don’t know what you’re talking about.  It warrants combat.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • Good luck, fella. I was lucky enough to learn it at a young age, in small chunks and at the same pace as my classical guitar playing evolved. I know I'd struggle if I started now - especially if I wasn't learning the instrument. 

Suggestion. Take piano lessons? You'll get two clefs for the price of one! 
  • blobbblobb Frets: 2914