Fretless Fender Precision

What's Hot
DdiggerDdigger Frets: 2358

I'm a guitarist, don't shoot me...

See video of Alan Spenner playing bass for Joe Cocker at Woodstock, 2.04 gives a good shot of his bass.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=POaaw_x7gvQ

Looks like a fretless Precision (and sounds like one).  Can't find anything on when Fender first made fretless Precisions.  Was this a 'homer' or were Fender making fretless Precisions then?

Thanks,

Ddig

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• proggyproggy Frets: 5835
    I think the Fretless Precision went into production around 1970, but a lot of bass players were having their basses defretted well before then, apparently Bill Wyman defretted one in the early 60's.
  • FunkfingersFunkfingers Frets: 14412
    Not fretless. Just half dead flat wound strings and incorrectly adjusted intonation.

At 3:37 in the Joe Cocker video, the white lines across the fingerboard at the fret positions are too wide to be just filled tang gaps. They also appear to have height along the edge of the neck.

At approximately 6:00, in the edge on shot of the bass, you should see that the fingertips land between the fret lines and stay there. A fretless bassist would not finger the notes this way.
    You say, atom bomb. I say, tin of corned beef.
  • GSPBASSESGSPBASSES Frets: 2339
    edited December 2017 tFB Trader