Banjo Playing Styles?

What's Hot
"Clawhammer" and "Frailing", is there any difference?   I'm just learning to play from books and youtube and when I search "frailing banjo" almost all the hits that come up are about clawhammer and the few that say frailing show what appears to me as clawnammer technique.  Anyone here know anything about this?

“Theory is something that is written down after the music has been made so we can explain it to others”– Levi Clay

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• I find they sound better when played with a mute:

2reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • I find they sound better when played with a mute:

Funny, that looks just like an accordion mute....

“Theory is something that is written down after the music has been made so we can explain it to others”– Levi Clay

• Dunno, I've been wondering about this myself as I wait for my banjo to arrive.
    Have you asked / looked on Banjohangout?

Also, what style banjo did you get and what are you playing?
  • By the way @DulcetJones you are 100% responsible for my current banjo craze - I loved that Dead south video, went to see them in Zürich and thought it would be a very cool thing to learn!
  • By the way @DulcetJones you are 100% responsible for my current banjo craze - I loved that Dead south video, went to see them in Zürich and thought it would be a very cool thing to learn!